“The Love Of Christ Jesus”/Warning Against Rejecting Wisdom

A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

“Warning Against Rejecting Wisdom”, Proverbs 1:20) Wisdom (Excellent Wisdom) crieth without; she uttereth her voice in the streets:  21) She crieth in the chief place of concourse, in the openings of the gates:  in the city she uttereth her words, saying22) How long, ye simple ones, will ye love simplicity?  and the scorners delight in their scorning, and fools hate knowledge?  23) Turn you at my reproof:  behold, I will pour out my spirit unto you, I will make known my words unto you.  John 7:37.  24) Because I have called, and ye refused; I have stretched out my hand, and no man regarded;  Isaiah 66:4; Jeremiah 7:13; Zechariah 7:11.  25) But ye have set at nought all my counsel, and would none of my reproof:  Luke 7:30.  26) I also will laugh at our calamity; I will mock when your fear cometh;  27) When your fear cometh as desolation, and your destruction cometh as a whirlwind; when distress and anguish cometh upon you.  28) Then shall they call upon me, but I will not answer; they shall seek me early, but they shall not find me:  Isaiah 1:15; James 4:3.  29) For that they hated knowledge, and did not choose the fear of the Lord:  Acts 7:51.  30) They would none of my counsel:  they despised all my reproof.  31) Therefore shall they eat of the fruit of their own way, and be filled with their own devices.  32) For the turning away of the simple (or ease of the simple) shall slay them, and the prosperity of fools shall destroy them.  33) But whoso hearkeneth unto me shall dwell safely, and shall be quiet from fear of evil.  Amen. 

Quest Study Bible – v7, Should we live in terror of God?  The phrase the fear of the Lord is the beginning of…wisdom is the cornerstone (a basic element:  foundation) of Proverbs.  Fear is actually another word for reverence or worship, suggesting that wisdom begins when we properly acknowledge who God is and offer Him the worship He deserves.  It reminds us that life’s true significance is discovered when we approach God with an attitude of humility and awe, not dread and fright.  The remainder of proverbs explains how we can fear God in our daily lives.  Whether the topic is wealth, work, or marriage, we are called to give God the honor due Him by obeying His Will in each of these areas.  A wise person will humbly seek God’s perspective on a matter before acting, but the fool will throw caution to the wind and act on his own impulses.  What’s the result of ignoring God and doing it our way?  There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death (14:12).  But the person who fears God, who daily worships and honors Him, has nothing to fear in either life or death.  Also see 9:10; Job 28:28; Psalm 111:10.

More to come and God Bless You. 

Leave a Reply

