“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”/Peter Addresses The Crowd

A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

Please forgive me for repeating myself but I’m am moved by this song “They Were Overcome By The Word”, by The Clark Sisters.  “They were overcome by the Word and the Blood of the Lamb.  They were overcome by the Word.  By the Blood of the Lamb and the Word of their Testimony.   They were overcome by the Word and they were healed of their diseases and they all believed in Jesus.  They were overcome by the Word and the Blood of the Lamb. “

“I Give Myself Away”, William McDowell.  “I give myself away, I give myself away so You can use me.  Hear I am, here I stand, Lord my life is in Your hands.  Lord I’m longing to see Your desires revealed in me.  Take my heart, take my life as a living sacrifice, all my dreams, all my plans, Lord I place them in Your hands.  I give myself away, I give myself away so You can use me.  My life is not my own, to You I belong, I give myself, I give myself to You.  Here I am to worship, here I am to bow down, here I am to say that, You are my God.  Your all together lovely, altogether worthy, altogether wonderful to me.   My life is not my own, to You I belong, I give myself, I give myself to You.”   (Beautiful)    

Peter Addresses The Crowd”, Acts 2:14)  But Peter, standing up with the eleven, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, Ye men of Judaea, and all ye that dwell at Jerusalem, be this known unto you, and hearken to my words:  15) For these are not drunken, as ye suppose, see it is but the third hour of the day (9:00am).  16) But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel;  17) And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of My Spirit upon all flesh:  and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams:  Isaiah 44:3; Joel 2:28; John 7:38.  18) And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of My Spirit; and they shall prophesy:  1Corinthians 12:10.   19) And I will shew wonders in Heaven above, and signs in the earth beneath; blood, and fire, and vapour of smoke:  Joel 2:30.   20) The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before that great and notable day of the Lord come:    21) And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.  22) Ye men of Israel, hear these words; Jesus of Nazareth, a Man approved of God among you by miracles and wonders and signs, which God did by Him in the midst of you, as ye yourselves also know:  Hebrews 2:4.  23) Him being delivered by the determinate counsel and foreknowledge of God, ye have taken, and by wicked hands have crucified and slain:  Luke 24:44.  24) Whom God hath raised up, having loosed the pains of death:  because it was not possible that He should be holden of it.  25)  For David speaketh concerning Him, I forsesaw the Lord always before my face, for He is on my right hand, that I should not be moved?  Psalms 16:8.  26) Therefore did my heart rejoice, and my tongue was glad; moreover also my flesh shall rest in hope:  27) Because Thou wilt not leave my soul in hell, neither wilt Thou suffer Thine Holy One to see corruption.  Daniel 9:24; Luke 1:35.   28) Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with Thy Countenance.  29) Men and brethren, let me freely speak unto you of the patriarch David, that he is both dead and buried, and his sepulcher is with us unto this day.  30) Therefore being a prophet, and knowing that God had sworn with an oath to him, that of the fruit of his loins, according to the flesh, He would raise up Christ to sit on His Throne;  2Samuel 7: 13.  31) He seeing this before spake of the Resurrection of Christ, that his soul was not left in Hell, neither His Flesh did see corruption.  Psalms 16;10.   32) This Jesus hath God raised, whereof we all are witnesses.  Luke 24:46-48.  To be continued.

Nelson’s Compact Bible Commentary – v14, 15, Peter, the first Disciple to recognize the truth about Jesus (Matthew 16:13-19), was also the first to bear witness of Him.  Peter preached his sermon to men of Judaea who had judged the whole episode as being the effect of too much wine (vv13,15).   v16-21, Peter began his sermon by quoting Joel 2:28-32.  In that passage, God had promised that there would be a time when all those who followed Him would receive His Spirit.  Peter pointed out that that time had come to pass.   God would speak to and through all those who would come to Him, whether in visions, dreams, or prophecy.  God’s final act of salvation was beginning with the pouring out of His Spirit.  v22-24, being delivered by the determinate counsel:  Jesus Christ was God’s provision for the judgment of sin; yet it was our sinfulness that made His death necessary.  God exercises control over all events–even the death of His Son.  v25-32, Joel prophesied that the Spirit would come; Jesus fulfilled that promise when He sent the Spirit (John 14;16).  If Jesus was dead, He could not have sent the Spirit.  Therefore, He must be alive.  let me speak freely:  Peter knew (v29) that no one could dispute the point he was about to make from Psalms 16:8-11, in which the Messiah is described as not decaying.  Because David had been buried and had not come back to life, the Psalm had to be speaking about someone else–David’s heir.  Peter pointed out that this Heir is Jesus, who was put to death and Resurrected.  Amen.

More to come and God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

