“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”/The Vine and the Branches

A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

continued, “I And The Father Are One”,  The existence of the Father and Son as One God yet two distinct persons baffles the human mind.  It’s a mystery that cannot be fully explained by logic or reason.  Yet; because the Bible teaches the Unity of God and the Deity of Christ:  we must accept the fact that an Infinite (unlimited) God cannot be comprehended by finite (limited) humans.  When we meet Christ face to face:  it’s possible that some such mysteries will be better understood.  Quest Study Bible.

“The Vine And The Branches”, John 15: 1) I Am the True Vine, and My Father is the Husbandman.  2) Every branch in Me that beareth not fruit He taketh away:  and every branch that beareth fruit, He purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit..  Hebrews 6:8.   3) Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.  Ephesians 5:26; 1Peter 1:22.   4) Abide in Me, and I in you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in Me.  Colossians 1:23; 1John 2:6.  5) I am the Vine, ye are the branches:  He that abideth in Me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit:  for without Me ye can do nothing.  Hosea 14:8.   6) If a man abide not in Me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.  Hebrews 6:4-6.   7) If ye abide in Me, and My Words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.  8) Herein is My Father Glorified, that ye bear much fruit, so shall ye be My Disciples.  9) As the Father hath loved Me, so have I loved you; continue ye in My Love.  10) If ye keep My Commandments, ye shall abide in My Love; even as I have kept My Father’s  Commandments, and abide in His Love.  11) These things have I spoken unto you, that My Joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.  1John 1:4.  12) This is My Commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.  1Thessalonians 4:9.  13) Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.  Romans 5:7.  14) Ye are My Friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  15) Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth:   but  I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of My Father I have made known unto you.  Genesis 18:17-19; Romans 16:25, 26.  16) Ye have not chosen Me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain:  that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in My Name, He may give it you.  1John 4:10; Mark 16:15.  17) These things I command you, that ye love one another.  

Mathew Henry, Quest Study Bible, Nelson’s Compact Commentary – v1 -8 Jesus Christ is the True Vine.  His Divine nature and the fullness of the Spirit that is in Him make the Vine fruitful.  Believers are branches of this Vine.  The root bears the tree and diffuses  it’s sap.  In Christ are all supports and supplies.  Believers are the branches of the vine.  Weak and unable to stand unless they are borne up.  The Father is the Husbandman…there is no other Husbandman as wise and watchful about His Vineyard as God is about His Church.  From a vine we look for grapes and from a Christian we look for a Christian temper, disposition and life.  We must honour God and do good; this is bearing fruit.  The unfruitful are taken away.   And even fruitful branches need pruning:  for sins committed by thought or deed that need to be taken away.  The Word of Christ is spoken to all believers; and there is a cleansing virtue in that word; as it works grace; and works out corruption.  In order to be fruitful, we must abide in Christ.  Those who abide not in Christ, though they may flourish for awhile will come to nothing.  The fire is the fittest place for withered branches.  Let us seek to live more simply on the fullness of Christ.   v9-17 All that love the Saviour should continue in their love to Him and take all occasions to show it.  The joy of the hypocrite is but for a moment but the joy of those who abide in Christ’s Love is a continual feast.  They are to show love to Him by keeping His Commandments and His Grace will provide all that is needed, for those that are obedient.  If the same power that first shed abroad the love of Christ in our hearts, did not keep us in that love, we should not long abide in it.  Christ’s Love should direct us to love one another.          

Leave a Reply

