“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”/Jesus Promises The Holy Spirit

A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

Many thanks to you, Bryan McDonald for your support and your very interesting Blog! 🙂

“Jesus Promises The Holy Spirit”, John 14:15) If ye love Me, keep My Commandments.  1 Corinthians 16:22.  16) And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you for ever; Romans 8:15.  17) Even the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth Him not, neither knoweth Him; but ye know Him; for He dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.  1John 2:27.  18) I will not leave you comfortless:  I will come to you.  19) Yet a little while, and the world seeth Me no more; but ye see me:  because I live, ye shall live also;  1Corinthians 15:20.  20) At that day ye shall know that I Am in My Father, and ye in Me, and I in you.  John 10:38.  21) He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth Me:  and he that loveth Me shall be loved of My Father, and I will love him, and will manifest Myself to him.  22) Judas saith unto Him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest Thyself unto us, and not unto the world?  23) Jesus answered and said unto him,  If a man love Me, he will keep My Words:  and My Father will love him, and We will come unto him, and make Our abode with him.  Psalm 91:1.  24) He that loveth Me not keepeth not My sayings; and the Word which ye hear is not Mine, but the Father which sent Me.  25) These things have I spoken unto you, being yet present with you.  26) But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send In My Name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.  Luke 24:49.  27) Peace I leave with you, My Peace I give unto you:  not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.  Colossians 3:15.  28) Ye have heard how I said unto you, I go away, and come again unto you.  If ye loved Me, ye would rejoice, because I said, I go unto the Father:  for My father is greater than I.  Galatians 4:4.  29) And now I have told you before it come to pass, that, when it is come to pass, ye might believe.  30) Hereafter I will not talk much with you.  for the prince of this world cometh, and hath nothing in me.  2Corinthians 5:21.  31) But that the world may know that I Love the Father, and as the Father gave Me commandment, even so I do.  Arise, let us go hence.  Philippians 2:8.

John Gill’s Exposition – v15 If ye love Me…Not that Christ doubted of the love of His disciples to Him; keep My Commandments… v16 And I will pray the Father…Here Christ speaks as Mediator, and promises His disciples, that He would intercede for them with the Father; which is designed as an encouragement to them to ask for what they want, in His name, and to comfort their hearts, which were troubled at the news of His departure from them; and He shall give you another Comforter….. This is no inconsiderable proof of a Trinity of Persons in the Godhead; here is the Father prayed unto, the Son in human nature praying, and the Holy Ghost the Comforter prayed for; who is the gift of the Father, and now He was about to leave them, and for their support under their sorrows, He promises to ask of His Father, that he would give them another Comforter, meaning the Spirit, who performs this his work and office, by taking of the things of Christ, and showing them to His people; by shedding abroad the love of the Father, and of the Son, into their hearts;  that he may abide with you forever…. as long as you live; and with all those that shall succeed you in the work of the ministry,  unto the end of the world.  v17 Even the Spirit of Truth whom the world cannot receive……These words explain who is meant by the Comforter, “even the Spirit of truth”; the true Spirit of God, the dictator of the Scriptures of truth, who leads men into the truths of the Gospel,  whom the world cannot receive; the men of the world, who are as they came into the world, carnal and natural men, can neither receive the Spirit nor the things of the Spirit, because they cannot understand them, therefore they do not love them, but despise and hate them: But ye know him; as a spirit of illumination, regeneration, and conversion: for he dwelleth with you; he is an inhabitant in your hearts, he has taken up his residence in you as his temples:  and shall be in you; as a Comforter, when I am gone from you; and as a spirit of truth to guide you into all truth, to stand by you, and assist you in preaching it, and to enable you to bear a faithful and glorious testimony for it. v18 I will not leave you comfortless,…. Gr. “orphans”, or “fatherless”.  I will come to you; in a very short time, as he did; for on the third day he rose again from the dead, and appeared to them, which filled them with great joy. v19 Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more,….they will see me no more until the time that I shall come in the clouds of heaven to judge the world; and then every eye shall see me: but ye see me; ye see me now, and shall see me after my resurrection, as they did; for then he appeared alive and conversed with them for forty days; and when he ascended into heaven, and sat down at the right hand of God, they saw him by faith crowned with glory and honour; and will see him as he is when he comes a second time to take them to himself in glory.  Because I live, Christ lives as God, as man, and as Mediator: as God, He lives the same life His Father does, partaking of the same nature, and possessing the same perfections; so he lived from everlasting, and will live to everlasting; as man, He lived first a private, and then a public life, attended with meanness, reproaches, sorrows, and sufferings; a life which was filled up with acts of devotion and piety to God, and with doing good to the bodies and souls of men; He lived in all obedience to the law of God, and at last endured the penalty of that law, in the stead of His people; when His life was taken away for a while, and then taken up by Him again; and now, He lives, and lives for evermore. As Mediator, He has his life from the Father, by whom He was set up from everlasting; and as such will live to everlasting, to make intercession for his people, and to rule until all enemies are made His footstool. And His people “live also”,

Matthew Henry Commentary – v20 -31 Love will be a commanding, constraining principle; and where love is, duty follows from a principle of gratitude. We must pray for, and depend on the teaching of the Holy Ghost, thus the words of Jesus will be brought to our remembrance, and many difficulties be cleared up which are not plain to others.Satan has something in us to perplex us with, for we have all sinned; but when he would disturb Christ, he found nothing sinful to help him. The best evidence or our love to the Father is, our doing as He has commanded us. Amen.

Leave a Reply

