“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”/Jesus Predicts Peter’s Denial

A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

“Jesus Predicts Peter’s Denial”, John 13:31) Therefore, when he was gone out, Jesus said, Now is the Son of man glorified, and God is glorified in Him.  1Peter 4:11.  32) If God be glorified in Him, God shall also glorify Him in Himself, and shall straightway glorify Him.  33) Little children, yet a little while I am with you.  Ye shall seek me: and as I said unto the Jews, Whither I go, ye cannot come; so now I say to you.  34) A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.  Ephesians 5:2.  35) By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.  36) Simon Peter said unto Him, Lord, whither goest thou?  Jesus answered him, Whither I go, thou canst not follow me now; but thou shalt follow me afterwards.  2Peter 1:14.  37) Peter said unto Him, Lord why cannot I follow thee now?  I will lay down my life for thy sake.  Luke 22:33.  38) Jesus answered Him,  Wilt thou lay down thy life for my sake?  Verily, verily, I say unto thee, The cock shall not crow, till thou hast denied me thrice. 

Quest Study Bible, v32 Christ had been glorified (Honored) in many miracles He wrought, yet He spake of His being glorified now in His sufferings. v34-35 What’s the test of loving one another?  God measures love by obedience, not by warm feelings.  In His first epistle (letter),  John says that believers know that they love one another by obedience to God’s commands (1John 5:2).  Love and obedience are so closely connected that John says, This is love for God, to obey His Commands (1John 5:3).  The Ten Commandments:  1) You shall have no other gods before me. 2) Thou shall not make unto thee any graven image, nor bow down to them, nor serve them:  for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God.  Leviticus 26:1.  3) Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.  Micah 6:11.  4) Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it Holy.  Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work. Deuteronomy 5:12;  Luke 13:14.  5) Honour thy father and thy mother that thy days shall be long upon the land.  6) Thou shalt not kill.  7) Thou shalt not commit adultery.  Matthew 5:27.  8) Thou shalt not steal.  9) Thou shalt not bear false witness (lie) against thy neighbour.  19) Thou shalt not covet (want) thy neighbour’s house, wife, manservant, maidservant, ox, ass (animal), nor anything that is thy neighbour’s.  Proverbs 6:29; Matthew 5:28.  v37-38 Christ knows us better than we know ourselves and has many ways of revealing those to themselves.  Matthew Henry.

More to come and God Bless You. 

Leave a Reply

