“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”/Psalm 23

>A Christ Filled Life – Getting To Know Jesus

I received some very nice emails regarding my blog and I have tried to check each blog in return (I’m not that savvy :).  I liked Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger site and I appreciate Bryan McDonald’s Like email. I remember a song, many years ago, my Aunt Anna used to play on her record player “Nothing Between” by Rosetta Tharpe. “Nothing between my soul and my Saviour, not of this world’s deluded dream for I have renounced all sinful pleasure, Jesus is mine there’s nothing between. So I’ll keep the way clear, let nothing between.”
Psalm 23 – A Psalm of Trust. David has no fear or concern, for the Lord is his Shepherd. David is the “sheep” whose Shepherd is the Lord. David as King was shepherd over the flock of Israel. This means that Psalm 23 is a royal psalm. Moreover, the psalm prophetically speaks of Jesus. He is the Good Shepherd whose flock trusts in Him (John 10) and the King whose perfect rule will be established (Luke 23:2, 3; Revelations 17:4).
1) The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want. 1 Peter 2:25.
“want” This word does not mean we will never want anything, but that we will not be in want. That is, we can trust God for the essentials of life.

2) He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth beside the still waters.
Sheep are very fearful animals and cannot lie down unless they feel totally secure. Green pastures: expresses the abundant care God gives to His people, still waters:God’s provision of still waters has a soothing effect and calms the sheep.

3) He restoreth my soul: He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. God refreshes His people with His quiet voice and gentle touch, His Holy Spirit. For His name’s sake: The nature of the Loving Shepherd.

4) Yea, thou I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Acts 18:9, 10.The valley of the shadow of death , can refer to any distressing time in our lives. The awareness of our own mortality often comes with sickness, trials, and hardship. But our Lord can lead us through these dark and difficult times to eternal life with Him. 1 Corinthians 15:25-27. Rod and staff: Ancient shepherds used these to rescue, protect and guide the sheep. These are the symbols of the Good Shepherd’s loving care over His flock.

5) Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.God has prepared a banquet and provides His protection and power in times of trouble. Anoint. In Biblical times a host would wash the guests feet and anoint his head prior to the meal. His anointed conveys a sense of royalty, for kings were anointed. God’s provision is abundant!

6) Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever. 2Corinthians 5:1.
Mercy and Goodness: This describes God’s overabundant love that is in no way deserved but belongs to us. Followed,We are pursued by the loving care of the Lord. the House of the Lord forever, God’s promise is not only for the enjoyment of this life; it is also for the full enjoyment of the life to come in His Blessed Presence (16:9-11; 17:15; 49:15). Amen.
More to come and God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

