“Jesus, A Miracle Worker”

Miracle, Miraculous-Webster:  A supernatural event due to divine action.  Miraculous:  of, like, involving or having the nature of a miracle. 

Have you ever had a miracle happen where you know that only God could have done this thing for you?  I have.  I’ve been so sick that I was afraid I wouldn’t get well and I prayed to the Lord to please help me and went to sleep (a good sign) and woke up feeling so much better.  All in my mind you might say but for me instead of getting worse I got better!  There have been countless other miracles that God has given me over the years.  There was a time I never had enough money to pay the rent and the Landlord showed up and sat down at my kitchen table and worked out a payment plan so that my son and I would not be homeless.  Yeah right, you might say but it never happened before and it hasn’t happened since. Eventually, I believe because of the goodness of his heart, he was able to sell his property when the market was booming.  I will always be thankful to him and his wife who answered the phone many times when I called to ask for more time and was always kind.  God Bless Them!  But the biggest miracle He did for me was to Save me from Hell and damnation.  His shed blood on Calvary has washed away my sins and the sins of the world so that whenever God looks at us He looks at us through the blood of Jesus shed on Calvary  and continues to gives us grace and mercy, divine love and protection.  Christ Jesus blessed me even though I had not completely given my life to Him.  I know that God through His Son Jesus has done miraculous things in all of our lives.  John 10:32… but Jesus said to them “I have shown you many great miracles from the Father.  For which of these do you stone me?”  Why did they want to stone Him?  Because He claimed a unique unity with the Father indicating His own deity.  The leaders of the Jews considered this to be blasphemy. 

There are some wonderful songs on Youtube like Rance Allen’s “He’s a Miracle Worker” and Juanita Bynum’s “You are Great” – You are great, you do miracles, so great, there is no one else like you, there is no one else like you.

 How can we have faith and trust in Him if we don’t know who He is; we need to know who Jesus is.   John 3:16)  For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  First, Jesus is the son of God

John 14:6  Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth and the life:  no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.  7)  If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know Him, and have seen Him.

Compact Bible Commentary Through His death and resurrection, Jesus is the way to the Father. Christ is the sinner’s Way to the Father and to Heaven.  He is also the truth and the life.  As truth, He is the revelation of God.  As life, He is the communication of God to us.  We are too sinful for God to have direct contact with us.  He sent His Son to be a mediator between God and man.

The four Gospels; Matthew, Mark, Luke and John offer firsthand knowledge of Christ Jesus.  What He said and did; where He went and what happened to Him.  Although each book may vary depending on the writer’s view they do not contradict.  I have chosen the book of John because it tells us how to find eternal life through Jesus Christ.  

John 1

1) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  2) The same was in the beginning with God.  3) All things were made by Him; and without Him was not any thing made that was made.  4) In Him was life; and the life was the light of men.  5) And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.  6) There was a man sent from God, whose name was John.  7) The same came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all men through Him might believe.  8) He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light.  9) That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.  10) He was in the world, and the world was made by Him, and the world knew Him not.  11) He came unto His own, and His own received Him not.  12) But as many as received Him, to them gave He power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on His name:  13) Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.  14) And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace of truth.  15) John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was He of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me:  for He was before me.  16) And of His fullness have all received, and grace for grace.  17) For the law was given by Moses but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ.  18) No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, He hath declared Him.

Study Bible Commentary NIV – 1) Word (logos) to mean the divine mind. To Jews word means Gods personal and active involvement in the world.  The creation is one example, when God spoke the word and the earth came into existence.  In this verse, it refers to Jesus Christ, who is the personal presence of God.  6) John the Baptist was sent for two reasons:  to call the world to repentance (Mark 1:4) and to prepare the way for the coming Messiah (1:23).  In the Old Testament, God often prepared people for some mighty action on His part by sending a prophet to call the people to repentance. John the cousin to Jesus (Luke 1:39-45), was the last of these prophets.  John called people to prepare for the arrival of Jesus Christ. 18) Because Jesus is God, He reveals to us what God is like (Hebrews 1:3).    

To be continued.  God Bless You.

 

    

2 thoughts on ““Jesus, A Miracle Worker”

Leave a Reply

