A Christ Filled Life

I Have A Friend

A friend is someone whom one knows and likes.  At least that’s what Webster says.

To know someone; to be acquainted with by experience, to recognize or be familiar with.

This can happen if you see the person enough to get to know them.  Such as a coworker that  you see every day.  Because you spend quite a bit of time at work you are more likely to get know the people around you.  How they act when their in a good mood, a bad mood, tired, sick, depressed or even angry.  Are they friendly or aloof.  If after interacting with this person enough times you will get a pretty good idea of  their character, so to speak, and form an opinion on whether this is someone you could be friendly with.

This can pretty much be how it is with everyone you come in contact with on a regular basis, except, maybe your family.  And I’ll get to family a little later.  I’ve heard it said if you have had 2 or 3 good friends in your lifetime you are Blessed.

Anyway, I went to the Bible to see what it says about a friend and found NIV Proverbs 17:17 A friend loveth at all times and a brother is born for adversity.  Meaning a true friend is constant and a real brother helps in times of stress.

The Quest Study Bible, Commentary – Asks how can I know who my friends are?  A test of loyalty.  A genuine friend loves through the best and worst times.  A friends true colors are revealed when we go through unusually difficult or painful circumstances.  A true friend will tell you hard truths, if it will help you.  Some people make poor friends.  Someone who pretends everything is okay.  Those that entice you to commit a crime.  Those that are drunkards or gluttons.  Friends that stick around until the money is gone.  And gossips separate friends, you can’t trust them. (Paraphrased)   

We’re told in Proverbs 18:24 A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.   Many companions and there could be trouble or they could not be dependable but that one friend that sticks closer to you than a brother is a Blessing from the Lord.

The Lord considers a friend to be the next best thing to family!

I have to ask myself, have I been a good friend.  No, I’m pretty sure I haven’t always been a good friend.  Maybe, I was too selfish, unforgiving, immature and didn’t know what a true friend should be.  It is said to have friends one must be friendly.  In order to be that friend I need to understand the Lord because I have found Him to be a friend.  This, I heard one Sunday morning from a Sis. King who was giving words of encouragement to the congregation some years ago and I have never forgotten them.  “I have found Him to be a friend.”  

So, the best friend we will ever have is Jesus the Christ.  How do I know?  Because He has been my friend and will be your friend too.  I’m reminded of an old song called “What A Friend We Have In Jesus”.  What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and grief’s to bear, what a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer.  Oh what peace we often forfeit and Oh what needless pain we bear all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.  Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share.  Jesus knows our every weakness take it to the Lord in prayer.  A beautiful song that has comforted me through hard times.

 

NIV John 15:13-14 Greater love has no man than this, that He lay down His life for His friends.  14) Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  The supreme example of love is Jesus’ humility is sacrificial service.  Christ’s love to us should direct us to love each other.  If Believers obey Jesus’ command to love, they enjoy the intimacy of his friendship.

The whole Bible is about Jesus.  From Genesis to Revelations, He was there from the beginning and to help you to get to know Him better, I want to share a few more verses about Jesus, the best Friend you will ever have!  He’s never too busy, He’s always on time and He died for my sins and for the sins of the whole world that we might have Life Eternal with HIM!  

KJV Psalm 23 1) The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. 2) He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth me beside the still waters.  3) He restoreth my soul;  He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.  4) Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil:  for thou art with me, thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.  5) Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies:  thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.  6) Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.  Amen.

Psalm 24:1-5 1)The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof; the world, and they that dwell therein.  2) For He hath founded it upon the seas, and established it upon the floods.  3) Who shall ascend into the hill of the Lord? or who shall stand in His holy place?  4) He that hath clean hands, and a pure heart; who hath not lifted up his soul unto vanity, nor sworn deceitfully.   5) He shall receive the blessing from the Lord, and righteousness from the God of his salvation.   

Psalm 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

John 1:1-4 1) In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  2) The same was in the beginning with God.  3) All things were made by Him and without Him was not any thing made that was made.  4) In Him was life; and the life was the light of men.  Amen.

God Bless You.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

