A Christ Filled Life

I Am Not Alone

What does alone mean?  Solitary, existing, being or living alone.  Some people may choose this way of life.  So more to the point is the word lonely.  Lonely means:  Being without companions: lone; single, solitary.  I don’t like it, but I find that throughout my life I have been alone a lot.  It’s caused me to do a lot of things that I should not have done, just so that I wouldn’t be alone.

We’ve all heard the saying “you can be in a crowded room and still feel alone” or even worse, you could be in a room full of family and friends and still feel alone.  Why is that?!  I believe that each and every one of us are born with an emptiness inside us, a gaping hole that longs to be filled with happiness.

Happiness is relative.  What makes me happy may be different from what makes you happy but we each long for that something that fills us with contentment and satisfaction.  But, happiness is fleeting and so we look for ways to fill the emptiness that sometimes threatens to devour us.

Money and all that it can buy, although needed and great to have, does not satisfy.  Statistics have shown that a lot people that have money are still just as empty on the inside as the rest of us.  They’re just lonely in better surroundings. 

In fact a materialistic life can be very empty.  A workaholic lifestyle does not provide much time for family and friends.  Being a shopaholic, and believe me I know about this, will put you in debt and make you feel foolish when you need to return most of those useless and needless items.

Food.  Food is instantly gratifying, I know about this too, but it’s not good for your waistline or your health and Alcohol as well other drugs, street or pharmaceutical are addictive.  And although the high may be good for a while it wrecks your health and your life in ways that you may not be able to recover.

Same thing with SEX.  Sex is great, instantly gratifying, mostly.  Even with people you don’t  know.  And if your bored, you can mix it up a little and try the same sex.  But, has any of this filled that gaping hole inside of you.  Maybe, just for a little while.

During one of my lonely treks (it can be a journey), I decided I wanted to know what was wrong.  I looked at my situation and my life, and no, I didn’t have a lot of money or a husband or a boyfriend or even a good friend and not much family.  I wasn’t that young anymore and didn’t have the greatest job.  I did however, have a son, who is a decent person and better than I was when I was his age.  I had a good enough job, a nice enough home and a belief in God and that He loved me so much that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life (paraphrased).  John 3:16 KJV.

Only recently did I really come to know the full extent of this verse.  It was at Sunday morning service at my Church in April that a visiting Preacher preached this verse and I was enlightened by the fact that it was because God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten son.  I was transformed, this time, by the revelation that God loved me so much that He gave His only Son, who came willingly to die, for my sins and for the sins of the whole world.

Let me take a moment to say that even though I believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God and that He died on the cross and that God raised Him up on the third day and that He is sitting at the right side of the Father interceding for us daily.  I don’t know everything about the word of God nor do I always understand His Word.  But I Believe in Him.  And so I was transformed.  My attitude changed  and I was filled with joy to know that I could put my trust in God and that through His Son Jesus Christ this scripture is true,  Hebrews 13:5 Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have; for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

Matthew Henry’s Commentary:  In this verse Jesus is asking us to be content with the things we have.  Opposing this is the sin Covetousness, an over-eager desire for the wealth of this world, with envy of those who have more.  And if we cannot be content having treasures in heaven and accept the lack of things here, then we would not be content even if God gave us more, we would not be satisfied.  Adam was in paradise, yet not contented; some of the Angels in heaven were not contented.  But  as a True Believer we have the promise that Christ  will never, ever, leave us nor forsake (abandon) us and that we have the presence of God with us in life, at death and for ever (paraphrased).

And so, coming home that Sunday afternoon a weight was lifted.  Not that much on the outside has changed, but I am changed on the inside and know that I can put my trust in the Lord that He is with me and that I am not alone. 

BELIEVING in Him.  Developing and keeping a strong relationship with Him, just like any other relationship, you have to put in the time, by going to church and fellowshipping with other Believers.  By setting aside some time everyday for prayer, not just when you need Him. By reading God’s word daily, studying God’s word, meditating on God’s word, listening for Jesus Christ, knowing that He will direct us and comfort us through His Holy Spirit.  Only then will that loneliness inside us be filled.  Revelation 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock:  if any man hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to him and will sup with him and he with me.   Amen.

God Bless You.  

                                       

          

      

 

Leave a Reply

